AMA with SpanishDict and PubNation Chris Cummings, CEO and Mike Miller, Dir. of Analytics & Rev

Hi everyone! My name is Mike Miller and I am the director of revenue and analytics at Curiosity Media. Today, Chris Cummings, the CEO of Curiosity Media and I are giving an AMA and I wanted to give you a few details about us and the site.

The main site we own and operate is SpanishDict is the largest Spanish reference site on the web, serving more than 14 million unique users and 160 million pageviews per month. Nearly all of our ad revenue comes from programmatic advertising, with the majority of that coming from header bidding. We use Prebid.js to manage our header bidding auction and have 15 different partners that run in the header.

We also own Fluencia is a subscription based, language learning application that empowers users to learn at their own pace with interactive exercises, step-by-step instruction, and personalized feedback.

I am still relatively new to the world of ad operations. I have worked at Curiosity Media for close to 3 years. I started as a software engineer, eventually became a software engineer working on ad ops, then became our director of revenue and analytics. Outside of work, I love all things outdoors and just returned from a ski trip to Colorado.

Chris is the founder and CEO of Curiosity Media. He’s passionate about education, technology, entrepreneurship, and riding his electric skateboard to work.

This is Chris here signing on live for the AMA. I look forward to the discussion…

Hi Mike and Chris, thanks for taking the time to answer questions!

How big of an issue has ad quality been for you and what have you been doing to resolve it?

Hi Mike and Chris,
What’s a big thing that you’re hoping to implement on your sites in 2017?